McCarthy Falls Short In 12th Round

Gains 14 more votes, but not enough for the win

  • Days of negotiating with 20 members of his party blocking him from becoming speaker of the House finally moved the vote count in Leader Kevin McCarthy’s (R-CA) favor on the 12th ballot.
  • Fourteen members switched their vote to support McCarthy, changing their minds after the GOP leader offered a number of concessions to his detractors.
  • Reps. Dan Bishop (R-NC), Josh Brecheen (R-OK), Andrew Clyde (R-GA), Michael Cloud (R-TX), Byron Donalds (R-FL), Anna Paulina Luna (R-FL), Mary Miller (R-IL), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Scott Perry (R-PA), the chairman of the House Freedom Caucus, Chip Roy (R-TX), Keith Self (R-TX), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), and Andy Ogles (R-TN) threw their support behind McCarthy after opposing him on the first 11 rounds.
Click to read full article Go back home

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Join our list!

Sign up here to get our daily newsletter with the top trending headlines.