UConn Huskies In NCAA Blowout Over San Diego State, Collect 5th Championship

  • The Huskies have now won five national championships in the past 24 years, under three different coaches, with Jim Calhoun leading the program in 1999, 2004 and 2011, Kevin Ollie in 2014 and now Hurley. UConn officially reaffirmed its status as one of the premier programs in college basketball.
  • It also likely ends the discussion surrounding the Huskies’ inclusion — or exclusion — from the sport’s blue blood programs.
  • “This is number five,” former UConn star Emeka Okafor told ESPN after the game. “We have one in every decade for the past four decades. … I don’t know how you would deny a school who has the most championships in the past 25 years. This will definitely end the debate, if there was any.”
Go back home

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Join our list!

Sign up here to get our daily newsletter with the top trending headlines.